Old beauty

I bought this floor loom on ebay form a local lady who had had it for a number of years. I think it is a loom made for the War Widows Guild in the late 1940s. Many of the bits & pieces have the name Rachel Greave on them who was one of the women involved in setting up weaving classes to help war widows make ends meet. I understand her brother, David actually built the looms they used. It came with a box of bits that I don’t really know what to do with.

It is a beautiful loom made mostly from silky oak with lovely bits of brass. I have spent the last week or so cleaning it up and working out how to warp it up and how to tie the treadles up. Hopefully today I will get to start weaving.

 

IMG_1919

 

IMG_1915

 

From the front

IMG_1914From the back half way through the warping. This process takes hours but is strangely calming. I now have to work out how I can get the shafts working up and down smoothly to make a nice shed.

~ by mstery on 15 May, 2013.

2 Responses to “Old beauty”

  1. It’s a lovely loom! And one with history….. you’ll be able to feel the peaceful spirits of all the others who have used it.

  2. Thank you. I am quite smitten. I haven’t been able to keep my hands off it since I got it. And I am thrilled it has some history.

Leave a Reply

 
