Two loom projects ready for the pot

I have just pulled the third project off my loom. It is a long angora merino scarf.

20130220-162534.jpg

It only uses two yarns: a hand spun angora and a merino/angora mix. You may be able to see a slight difference in the photos.

20130220-163022.jpg

20130220-163033.jpg

My second project was also a long scarf but I used a lot of different yarns to see how the yarns would weave up and also to see how they would print & dye up. This scarf has been kicking around on the couch for the last month or so and it has surprisingly softened up quite a bit.

20130220-163124.jpg

I will dye up the multi-fibre scarf first to see how it dyes up. I am scared to dye the angora. It took a lot of time to make & I am anxious I will hash it up. I haven’t done much dye work lately, it’s been a bit hot (and dry) down here. So I am sort of out of the rhythm of it. I have been doing some stitch-work. More on that another post.

Oh well, if all goes pear-shaped I can always give it to J to dye black, I spose….

~ by mstery on 20 February, 2013.

4 Responses to “Two loom projects ready for the pot”

  1. I am sure it will all work out well …. not sure I have the patience to weave?..but love to doodle with stitching !

  2. I’ve got my fingers crossed! I thought the same about weaving but it is faster than I expected it to be and quite meditative.

  3. Keen the see the colour outcomes for the different fibres … how different will they be

    • Me too! I will post photos when I’ve summoned enough courage to dye them 🙂
      Hopefully in the next couple of days. I want to find some good euca leaves.

Leave a Reply

 
