Re-purposed fabrics

I am focussing on only using pre-used fabrics to make new textile pieces. So J and I and Tashi spend a lot of time wandering through op shops to find silk, linen and cotton pieces that we can use. It’s amazing what you can find & Tashi ends up with some lovely clothes and shoes (she found a brand new pair of Converse at one shop, she was so excited!).

I have been going through my wardrobe for suitable items (nothing is safe now – I am looking at Mark’s white business shirts that he no longer wears now as LP is casual but not many are pure cotton). I did find a cream silk scarf that I rarely wore cos it’s cream so wrapped it around some eucalypt leaves & gum nuts & boiled it all up.

It's a bit hard to see here but it turned out a wonderful acid yellow colour blending to the olive.

~ by mstery on 27 March, 2011.

2 Responses to “Re-purposed fabrics”

  1. Wow wish I could get that much colour form eucalyptus leaves my local trees end up a very soft beige colour. Yes the Op shops are a great way to find material Ula and I have fun too.

    • I took Tashi to a ‘retro’ warehouse sale last Sunday & she found a couple of old leather coats that looked like they escaped the eighties, barely. She loves them! One is orange! (Must get a photo.) She was never going to be mainstream…

      As for the colour from the euca leaves I think the pre-mordant has a lot to do with it. I used garden variety alum. Iron sulphate seems to give the charcoal colours.

      Happy dyeing

Leave a Reply

 
